Facebook is the world’s largest social media platform, one that is seen as a social abode to many. But a time comes where you want to leave the home by deactivating your Facebook account permanently. Yes, there’re some time where you want to delete our Facebook account, either to start again on Facebook or to remain anonymous online.
As Facebook is one of the online platforms where people can be found, most people fear for their safety when they come to think that they can be seen or their profile can be viewed by millions of people hence why they opt for the permanent deactivation of their Facebook account. In some cases, the deactivation of ones Facebook account is part of a job requirements (This can be seen in play in secret service), the reason for this is to provide utmost anonymity as being visible to the public renders service members socially vulnerable.
The option to deactivate your Facebook account can also be seen as deleting your Facebook account too. Although you can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily, you can also deactivate permanently. When you deactivate your Facebook account temporarily, you can activate it after some time but as for the latter, there is no going back from the permanent deactivation of your Facebook account. Once you deactivate your Facebook account, the only way back is to create a new Facebook account or to deal with the fact that your Facebook account has been deactivated. This feature has not always been available on Facebook, it was added to give individuals the option to continue with Facebook or not. Let’s go straight to the deactivation process.
How To Deactivate Your Facebook Account Permanently
These days, when it comes to performing actions on online platforms, there are usually two sides to them, how to perform actions on them using the mobile app and or using the web app.
Using Facebook Mobile App
To do this, you need to have the Facebook account on your device. Click here to see how you can get access to it. After the installation of the app the following steps should be followed;
- Open the Facebook mobile app and log in to your account
- Once logged in, on the navigation pane, click on the 3 horizontal lines and you will be presented with a drop-down list
- Go to settings and privacy
- Click on settings
- Go to “Your Facebook Information” section and click on account ownership and control
- Once opened, click on account deactivation and deletion
- Select delete account and click on continue to account deactivation
- Confirm your action and your account will be deactivated permanently
Using Facebook Web App
To access the Facebook web app, all you need is to have an internet connected device with a web browser. After the aforementioned has been acquired, the following steps should be followed;
- Go to www.facebook.com and log into your Facebook account
- Once logged in, on the top navigation pane, you will see a down-facing arrow click on it and you will be presented with a drop-down list.
- From the list, click on settings. Once the settings is opened, on the left navigation click on “Your Facebook information”. Once clicked you will be sent to another page.
- On this new page, click on deactivation and deletion select permanently delete account and click on continue
- Confirm your action and your account will be deleted
Thanks for reading!!!